Advisory Board

Operations and initiatives of the Office of Undergraduate Research are guided by an Advisory Board, made up of two undergraduate students, one graduate student, and seventeen faculty members from across the university, who have a proven commitment to and passion for undergraduate research and creative scholarship.

Student Members

Lauren Holt

Lauren Holt

Undergraduate Student,

Sustainable Biomaterials; Professional and Technical Writing; Won the Outstanding Mentor Award
 

Tyler McFayden

Tyler McFayden

Graduate Assistant,

Ph.D. Candidate in
Psychology;  Won the Outstanding Research Mentor Award
 

Abbie Weit

Abbie Weit

Ambassador for the Office of Undergraduate Research,
Major(s): 

Experimental Neuroscience

Faculty Members

AnneBrown

Anne Brown

University Libraries,  Science Informatics Consultant & Health Analytics Coordinator
Email: :
ambrown7@vt.edu

Dennis_Dean

Dennis Dean

Director,
Fralin Life Science Institute; Professor, Biochemistry
Email: 
deandr@vt.edu

Verl Emrick III

Verl Emrick III

Research Scientist, Conservation Management Institute
Email:
vemrick@vt.edu

JeffJoiner

Jeff Joiner

Assistant Professor of Practice, School of Visual Arts Director of FourDesign Interium Chair, Visual Communication Design
Email:
jjoiner@vt.edu

 

Monica

Monica Kimbrell

Assistant Dean, Undergraduate Academic Affairs
College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences
Email:
mkimbrel@vt.edu

Kroehler

Carrie Kroehler

Associate Director,
Center for Communicating Science
Email:
cjkroehl@vt.edu

Krometis

Leigh-Anne Krometis

Associate Professor, Biological Systems Engineering
Email:
krometis@vt.edu

Nikki Lewis

Stephanie (Nikki) Lewis

Collegiate Assistant Professor in the Honors College
Email:
snl@vt.edu

VinodLohani

Vinod Lohani

Professor W.S. Pete White Chair for Innovation in Engineering Education
Email:
vlohani@vt.edu

Amanda MacDonald

Teaching & Learning Engagement Librarian
University Libraries
Email: 
abmacdon@vt.edu

Mueller

Rolf Mueller

Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Email:
rolf.mueller@vt.edu

Phyllis Newbill

Phyllys Newbill

Associate for Outreach and Engagement,
Institute for Creativity, Arts, & Technology
Email: 
pnewbill@vt.edu

Gordon Yee

Gordon Yee

Associate Professor
Inorganic Chemistry;
Director of Undergraduate Programs,
Chemistry
Email: 
gyee@vt.edu

Gordon Yee

Associate Professor
Inorganic Chemistry;
Director of Undergraduate Programs,
Chemistry
Email: 
gyee@vt.edu